Staffs Young Farmers Staffs Young Farmers

Staffordshire Federation of Young Farmers Clubs

"Fun, learning and achievement"

Archive for the ‘Results’ Category

Carcase Judging Results 2019

Thursday, October 10th, 2019

65 members from 8 Clubs travelled to Sargeants, Bramshall for the Carcase Judging Competition.  The results were:

Junior Team – 1st Leek YFC, 2nd Waterhouses YFC, 3rd Eccleshall A YFC

Intermediate Team – 1st Cheadle YFC, 2nd Chase YFC, 3rd Eccleshall B YFC

Senior Team – 1st Uttoxeter A JNFU, 2nd Waterhouses YFC, 3rd Eccleshall A YFC

Overall Team – 1st Uttoxeter A JNFU, 2nd Cheadle YFC, 3rd Waterhouses YFC

Photos from the evening can be found HERE

Fence Erecting Competition 2019

Saturday, September 14th, 2019

Four teams enjoyed a sunny day to compete in the Fence Erecting Competition, thanks goes to Uttoxeter District Agricultural Society for hosting this competition.  The results on the day were:

1st – Uttoxeter B JNFU, 2nd – Uttoxeter A JNFU, 3rd – Chase YFC

National Dairy Stockjudging Finals

Thursday, July 11th, 2019

Senior Section – Johnathan Wilson of Uttoxeter JNFU – 1st; Philip Wilson of Uttoxeter JNFU – 8th

Intermediate Section – Peter Cotton of Waterhouses YFC – 9th; Robert Mollatt of Uttoxeter JNFU – 8th

Junior Section – James Robinson of Lichfield YFC – 13th; Heidi Pickford of Waterhouses YFC – 17th

Overall Team – Staffordshire A – Johnathan Wilson, Peter Cotton and James Robinson – 2nd

Overall Team – Staffordshire B – Philip Wilson, Robert Mollatt and Heidi Pickford – 7th

National Competitions Results (Competitions Day)

Saturday, July 6th, 2019

NFYFC Choir Finals – Eccleshall and Uttoxeter – 2nd

NFYFC Clay Pigeon Shooting Finals (26 and under) – Sam Down of Uttoxeter – 2nd and Max Standerwick of Lichfield – 5th

NFYFC Clay Pigeon Shooting Finals (17 and under) – Robert Rowlinson of Leek – 9th

NFYFC Clay Pigeon Shooting Finals (Ladies Scores) – Katie James of Leek – 4th  and Maisie Grew of Eccleshall – 9th


West Midlands Area – Tug of War Competition

Sunday, June 16th, 2019

Junior – Staffordshire A – Cheadle YFC (4th)

Ladies – Staffordshire A – Stone/Waterhouses YFC (3rd) & Staffordshire B – Eccleshall (6th)

Mens – Staffordshire A – Waterhouses YFC (1st) & Staffordshire B – Stone (3rd)


West Midlands Area – Auctioneering Competition

Friday, June 14th, 2019

George Goodwin of Waterhouses YFC – 5th

Alicia Smith of Chase YFC – 7th

West Midlands Area – Fence Erecting Competition

Saturday, June 8th, 2019

3rd Place – Staffordshire B (Uttoxeter Young Farmers – Sam Down, Charlie Down and Sam Froggatt)

4th Place – Staffordshire A (Chase Young Farmers – James Freeman, Will Freeman and Jack Martin)

Stone YFC “Feel the Rhythm! Feel the Rhyme!”

Wednesday, June 5th, 2019

Staffordshire Young Farmers take the main ring at the County Show by storm again this year, on Thursday 30th May.  They held their annual Young Farmers’ Show Float Competition with the theme this year being “Disney Films”, which meant for plenty of construction, colour and fun on each float as they created some of the most well know Disney Films!  The sponsor of the competition, BD Fuels of Hixon kindly judged the floats before and during their journey into the main ring of the County Showground.  This prestigious competition, the highlight of the YFC calendar and one of the most popular ran by Staffordshire Young Farmers, draws the largest crowd to the main ring when the floats, which have been worked on for many months, take to the parade. The Overall Float Competition was won by Stone Young Farmers who created scenes from the 1993 film, “Cool Runnings!”  With the classic chant of “Feel the Rhythm! Feel the Rhyme, get on up its Bobsleigh time “, members got well and truly into the Winter Olympic spirit both in voice and with their costumes.  Second place was awarded to Eccleshall YFC who recreated the film “Up”, complete with the house and balloons to depict this heart-warming film from 2009.    In third place was Ashley YFC again this year, who bought the classic film “Jungle Book” to the main ring.  Their float had that jungle feel to it with costumes and animals galore.   Fourth place was awarded to Waterhouses YFC for their depiction of the children’s favourite, “Cars!”  Lightening McQueen and the rest of the pals were all on the float along with a few novelty toys to entertain the crowds!

Waterhouses Young Farmers were awarded the Best Name Board Shield for their well designed and colourful sign and they were closely followed by Uttoxeter Young Farmers, who did Pirates of the Caribbean as the runners up. This part of the competition was judged by Mr & Mrs P Atkin, Vice Chairman and Mr & Mrs S Clarke, Vice President of the Staffordshire & Birmingham Agricultural Society.

Members on the Show Floats from nine clubs entertained the huge crowds and judges as they circled the Main Ring.  Staffordshire YFC thoroughly enjoy providing this entertainment to the general public and raising their profile, as a rural youth organisation which is all about fun, teamwork, learning and opportunities for anyone aged 10 to 26 years.  They also enjoyed a great water fight at the end which is the most favourite part for the members.

Staffordshire YFC has had an amazing two days at this year’s County Show.  Their “Best of British” themed marquee has been full with people over the two days as members have put on a full programme of activities and competitions for everyone to enjoy.  County Chairman, Polly Baines commented that “We have had a great two days at the County Show promoting what YFC is all about.  The Show Floats were a fantastic and impressive display of skills including artwork, construction and obviously teamwork for months beforehand.  We have attracted a brilliant crowd of supporters of all ages which makes for a lovely atmosphere at the show. All the clubs have worked so hard towards this week and this has definitely paid off.”

Click HERE for photos from the competition


Thursday, May 30th, 2019

After a brilliant first day at the County Show, Staffordshire Young Farmers held their Male and Female Tug of War in the Main Ring on Wednesday evening, 30th May.   A great crowd of supporters from across the County and other clubs also turned out in force in the Grandstand to watch a hard fought competition. Many of the teams have been training three times a week since before Christmas and their hard work and efforts paid off.

Following a great standard of pulling, in wet conditions which despite the slippy main ring, made for a great competition.  The results on the evening for the male competition were:  Waterhouses YFC team beat Stone YFC to the 1st place position.  Stone YFC were the runners-up and Uttoxeter JNFU took 3rd place.

In the ladies competition, Waterhouses YFC stormed to victory coming in first place.  The results ended with Waterhouses YFC taking home the silverware on the night, Eccleshall YFC in 2nd place and Uttoxeter JNFU in 3rd place.

The 1st and 2nd placed teams from each competition will now go forward to the West Midlands Round of the competition at The Three Counties Show, Malvern on Sunday 16th June.

Click HERE for photos from the competition.

Club Display Competition Results 2019

Tuesday, May 28th, 2019

Each Club has 1m x 1m cube to promote their Club at this years Stafford County Show, the displays are judged and the results were:

1st – Eccleshall YFC

2nd – Leek YFC

3rd – Ashley YFC

Photos of all the displays can be found HERE